“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 201: Grimm Meets a Girl

July 29, 2014

 

I have a lot to catch up with yet again, Wise Old Journal, including Bogart’s first date, which was on Sunday; our beach day, which was on Friday; and incidents including ants, M&Ms, the fire pit, and a vacuum.  But for now I will focus on when I met HER.

I was sitting in Barnes & Noble for most of the day in order to try and meet someone that I could take on a date and join Bogart for moral support, as I described in my previous entry.  Anyway, I was beginning to get discouraged when SHE walked in.  I saw her walk up to the counter and order a coffee.  I figured that she would sit or browse around the store, then I’d make my way to her and strike up some conversation.  But she left.  She ordered her coffee and walked back out the door.  I was like, shit wtf damnit mother fuck.  Because what the hell was I supposed to do, stalk her?

Well, this gaping hole birthed and began to expand in the pit of my stomach once she walked out, so after my wtf moment, I decided to go out after her.  I grabbed my own coffee and my book and ran out.  I stood in front of the store and saw her walking in the direction of the other stores in the plaza.  She wasn’t headed toward the parking lot.

In the midst of my dilemma about how to make this happen, I ran up to her, about ten feet away, and said, “excuse me.”

She turned, “yes?”

She was so beautiful, tall and black.  She was like a couple inches shorter than me maybe, and her skin was the dark black that almost seemed blue.  I lost my breath for a second and I thought I’d just get dizzy and pass out.  I just stared at her.  I’ve always kind of done that though, I get the impulse to approach a girl, say hi, then have no idea what to say next.  While I’m thinking of it, I just stare, and somehow, this has inadvertently become my manner of picking up girls.  It would seem they’d think I was kinda creepy, but nope, somehow they get intrigued.  This girl just smiled, “do you have something you want to say?”

She had a French accent.  We were still about ten feet away from each other and stationary, so I walked up to her and said, “umm I…I just…I wanted…ummm…hi, I’m Grimm.”  I decided to just introduce myself before I began to speak in tongues, and I put out my hand to shake hers.

“Solenne.”

“It’s nice to meet you.”

“Yes, but…why?”

“Because…ummm…” and since I had nothing else to say and no other cause for accosting her, I was honest, “you’re beautiful.  I saw you buy your coffee and I wanted to talk to you, but then you left, so I didn’t have much time to think about how to approach you.”

“That’s romantic.  Are you romantic?”

“I can be.”

“I remember you.”

“You remember me?  What do you mean?”

And then she described the day last year when I went to Barnes & Noble with my mother for mother’s day.  Solenne was apparently the girl who caught me with my hand down my pants scratching my balls.  Hardly a good first impression, but it was an impression enough for her to remember me.  She said I made her laugh and she thought I was cute.  Ok, I’ll take cute.  I’d prefer to be called hot and handsome, but cute’s not bad.

She then said that she had somewhere she needed to go, but had one more stop to make first, and she invited me to walk with her.  I asked if she minded if I smoked.  I figured I’d expose the bad habit right away and get it over with, but I still told her I was trying to quit.  She smoked with me though she’s not a smoker, it’s only social for her.  As we were walking she said we were going to Petco because she has three greyhounds that she adopted.  Their names are Marcy, Daisy, and Brad.  She changed their names from their race dog names, because she believed their original names carried bad associations for them.  Brad is named after Brad Pitt.  I said, funny I have a cat named Gary Oldman.  She said she’d like to meet “him”.  I said, “her”.  She said, “oh that is funny.”

So she likes animals, and I found out that she runs, which is awesome, and she goes with her dogs, because they need lots of exercise or their muscles will atrophy.  I accompanied her during her shopping, purchasing, and I helped her load up her car.  She told me that she’s from the Ivory Coast, and about five years ago she came to the states to live with an uncle because there was too much violence.  She didn’t want to go into detail, but she said she “lost” her family.  Since she’s come here, she’s caught up on her education, including learning to read and speaking English.  Her first language is French.  Since she’s been here, another civil war has broken out there.  She’s only nineteen years old, but for her I will make an exception to my age restrictions.  Solenne has been through a lot, so she’s wise and mature.  But she is extremely positive and loves life and values every minute of it because she says you never know what’s going to happen next, good or bad.  She believes she is very lucky to be here in the states and she’s excited that she will begin college this year, majoring in sociology because she wants to help people on a global level, but she’s not sure where to begin.  Sociology seemed fitting.

Anyway, I could no longer deny that I was in love with her.  Every word I spoke came out with a bunch of breath because I could barely breathe.  The exhales came out in my words, my inhales were kinda shaky.  I don’t think I was breathing at all when I wasn’t speaking.  But after we loaded her car, I told her about the date and explained that the girl Bogart is taking is bringing along a couple she knows, in order for her to feel safe.  Solenne said she won’t do that.  She said she feels safe and senses safety from me, so she wanted me to pick her up at her house like a real date, because she’s never been on a real date either.  She added that I will then also meet her uncle who will hunt me down and mutilate me if I should harm her in any way, then she laughed.  I said I wasn’t concerned about that, because I’d never hurt her.  I told her I’d call her on Saturday to confirm what we’re doing.

Then as she was saying goodbye, I said, “wait a minute.”  I wasn’t ready for her to go yet.

She was at her car door, standing inside the open door and I was facing her, very close to her.  I wanted to kiss her but I thought it might not be appropriate since we only just met, so after I said “wait” I just stood there again, staring at her.  She smiled and said, “what?”

I leaned in slowly to kiss her, slow enough for her to know what I was doing, and slow enough for her to turn away or refuse it if she wanted.  But she didn’t.  She took it and kissed me back.  Then she told me I was definitely a romantic.  She said goodbye and drove away.

I watched her drive away, and couldn’t move at first as I was captured by the remnants of her presence, but once I broke out of the time warp, I was eventually able to get on with my day.

And my theme song for this entry is “Hello, I Love You” by The Doors, because is there another more appropriate song?

 

*******

previous Grimm 200: Grimm on the Hunt http://wp.me/p41c99-10U

next Grimm 202: Supplying Chocolate, Vacuuming Private Parts, the Beach, & Lizard King Competition http://wp.me/p41c99-11H

For a list with links to all the previous journal entries go to: http://wp.me/P41c99-J

Check out the Character Directory Pages to learn about characters mentioned in each post.

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 186-210 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 201: Grimm Meets a Girl

  1. Reblogged this on SageDoyle.

  2. I loved reading that.

  3. Well now, I am all breathless. That WAS romantic.

  4. Aliew

    Perfect song choice for this :-)

  5. Sage,
    Hello I love you! Great post. I’m a couple behind but you make it so easy to drop in and still get the vibe. You’re writing is amazing, a true talent. Standing in B&N scratching your balls! What a first impression, not sure I would have talked to you but you’re so romantic how can a women turn you away. It makes my day when you take the time to like my post or actually drop in. Keep it coming. :)

    • Thanks! I’m glad it’s simple to just come and go and you don’t feel the need to read them all in order to appreciate each post as it’s own thing. If you ever have any questions, let me know, I can fill you in. And thank you for the compliments. I also enjoy your blog as well, glad to encountered you. Take care.

  6. i have a feeling i have lived the ants & m&m’s story

  7. So, what happened next?

  8. And to thin, this old lady is old enough to have gone to a couple of theirconcerts…

    • I’m not :/ Did Jim Morrison perform well? I’ve read that it was never guaranteed.

      • Never guaranteed – but times he was fired up (in several different ways) and was totally charismatic. I think of the
        Rolling Stone magazine cover years ago with a tres sexy head shot of Morrison with the caption: He’s hot, He’s sexy, He’s dead. This was in response to a sudden resurgence of interest in him and the music.

        • I think I saw that cover, the “young lion” photo, right?

          • Yeppers

          • Thought so. Did you see the film with Val Kilmer? I’m curious what you thought of his performance. I used to think it was pretty cool, but I saw it again recently and thought it made Jim Morrison come across as an obnoxious jerk.

          • Well, he was – often. A bit of the tortured genius persona along with being a lady killer. And then the drugs and alcohol enhances all things that are bad in a person. But he was hot stuff and when he was good, he was very very good.

          • Yeah, I kind of went through this Jim Morrison phase when I was younger. Read all his poetry and the books written about him. My favorite was the one written by Patricia Keneally, I think that one was “Strange Days”.

          • Patricia Keneally also wrote a series of excellent fantasy books. One of friends’ teenaged son was really fascfinated by him as well. He was a bit of a rebel and it fell to me one week to keep an eye on him while his folks were out of town. WE had a ball, he soaked up about the Doors, going to Woodstock, hitching across the country during the summer of love. When I left, I gave him a parting gift I had worked on at night, a beaded necklace of the same pattern and colors Jim had worn at one time. That was fun and the kid was elated.

          • That’s right, I remember finding them in the library but I never read them. And that’s awesome, I would’ve liked that too. I wrote a poem during my Jim Morrison phase kind of in his style of writing, called “Jim Morrison’s Desert” lol It’s on my Sage Doyle blog. I wrote it while I was hitchhiking across the states.

          • Cool. We’ve bone the hitchhiking thing. I’ll have to check that poem out.

          • Only if you want to ;)

          • Of course I do!

          • Thanks :)

Thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

