In Need of Singer/Songwriter for Wall Grimm’s Love Song to Emma

I am looking to collaborate with a male song writer/singer/guitarist in the composition of a song for “The Journal of Wall Grimm”.  I would write the lyrics and the other person would write the music and perform the piece.  (Or it could be a female song writer/guitar player, or any collaboration, so long as I have a male singer who can represent Grimm).

The final piece should be a male singer accompanied by acoustic guitar, in the form of a sound recording or video which I will include in the blog post that features the song.

THE SONG:

The song would be Wall Grimm’s love song for Emma.  If any of you who are interested in collaborating with me are unfamiliar with “The Journal of Wall Grimm”, feel free to look around the blog, particularly the EMMA page.  It’s not necessary for you to read any of it, though it might help you to create a melody for the song as it pertains to Grimm’s emotions and how he wants to express them.  You can also ask me any questions you have about a back story if that information would help.

You can click here for the character directory where Emma’s name is listed.  Beside her name includes all the post numbers she’s mentioned in, with links to those posts.  Click here to view “The Journal of Wall Grimm” about page.

GENRE:

I’ve been thinking about a genre of music for the piece.  Wall Grimm is 24 years old, he mostly likes punk, techno, the blues, and some retro music.  Grimm himself doesn’t write music, so the lyrics would be his (mine), and he composes the song with the blues band he plays harp for.  Yet, I’m not thinking of a bluesy love song.  One of Grimm’s favorite songs lately is Imagine Dragon’s “Demons” so I’d like to try and capture the same mood and passion which that song evokes.

HOW TO SUBMIT:

Deadline to submit is March 15, 2014.  Grimm plans to perform the song for Emma after she graduates from college and before she moves away, so I’d say that it should be ready for me to use by June 1, 2014.  I’d like to choose the person to compose this song by April 1, 2014, which will allow that person 2 months to complete the song.  I’d like the final product to be a sound recording and/or video to include in the post.

In order to apply, please submit a sound recording or video of yourself singing and playing guitar, preferably an original song so I can know your sound/style.  You can either post links below in the comments, or email me at sagedoyle@yahoo.com.

RIGHTS:

Unfortunately there’s no money in this, it’s just a collaboration.  You will get full credit for the music and performance.  It will be posted on this blog, reblogged on my other one SageDoyle Fiction & Poetry, linked to Twitter @sagedoyle, Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sage.doyle, https://www.facebook.com/1sagedoyle, and Google+.  I will always notify you if I decide to use it anywhere else, and you will always be credited for the music and performance.  You also can use the song however you want, as long as you keep me informed of its use (mostly for mutual promotion) and always credit me with the writing of the lyrics, and include the link to the blog post the song originally appears in.

Since I’ve never written a song, once I give you the lyrics, you can ask me to revise in order to accommodate the music.  But we can work that out once the process begins.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT:

If you have any questions feel free to ask below in the comments or email me sagedoyle@yahoo.comDeadline to submit is March 15, 2014.  The person will be selected by April 1, 2014.

Feel free to reblog this or pass this info on to anyone you know who might be interested.  Good Luck!

-Sage

Categories: NOTES FROM SAGE DOYLE | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “In Need of Singer/Songwriter for Wall Grimm’s Love Song to Emma

  1. Reblogged this on SageDoyle.

  2. Good luck,looking foward to hearing how it turns out! :)

  3. My daughter is a singer/songwriter in NYC .. will forward this to her to see if she is interested, with the caveat that you are looking for a male singer/songwriter. And with the caveat that she writes Indie music.

  4. Kev

    Sounds good. You can check my own music on https://www.youtube.com/user/Kevcooper63/about?view_as=public and if you like it…let me know. :)

  5. I’ll give it a go :)

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

