“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 158: Instincts, Sex, An Oldmanism, and Grimm’s First Ever Steve Martinism

January 29, 2014

Bogart’s mother called me.  She got my number from the institution since I had given it to staff to put with his personal stuff that’s locked up.  She wanted to know who I was and why I wanted anything to do with her son.  I told her we had met in the institution and became friends and that I was hoping I could help him out whenever he’s released.  She said that Bogart, or Neil as she calls him, doesn’t have any friends and when he does, they don’t last long, and what makes me think I could help him, and why would she want him hanging around another “mental.”  I replied that I’m kind of a loyal friend, through thick and thin unless someone fucks me over, and that just being his friend could help him, and that I’m not a mental, I put myself there because I was depressed that my baby died.

Then I asked if he was getting out soon.  She said she didn’t know, but anytime soon would be too soon. She asked if he ever told me about the most recent event in his life that put him in there, because he’s too insane for prison.  I told her no.  Basically he doesn’t seem to be very clear about it himself.  He thinks he might have committed a crime but he’s uncertain and confused and offered me no details.  Her response was, of course, that’s because he’s insane and delusional, and that when he’s expected to get out, she’d call and tell me what he did, and then I can decide if I still want to help him.  I asked why she couldn’t tell me now, but she refused and only said that he’s dangerous, and I wouldn’t be able to control him unless I was with him for 24 hours per day.

We ended the conversation, and though I felt she was very negative about her own son, I had to assume that she knew what she was talking about.  Instinctively I had a strange sense that controlling him meant protecting other people from him.  I mean, if he punches me in the face and slams me against the wall by my throat because I’m his favorite person in the world, as he says…well, that doesn’t seem safe for the people he likes less than me, or those who piss him off.  I’ve seen him attack the people who piss him off, and either I or staff had to break it up, otherwise he wouldn’t have stopped until the people he attacked were just mounds of blood and bone.

But anyway, onto other things.  On Sunday I went for coffee with Iona and went back to her place and we fucked all night and I ended up staying over.  When I got back home on Monday morning, shortly before I was supposed to leave with Howard for Blues Monday, he was wicked pissed at me.  He was saying shit like he didn’t know where I was or when I was coming home and he and Daisy were worried when they didn’t hear from me and when I never returned.  I was like wtf Howard, really?  I explained that I kinda come and go and wander randomly.  I’m going to school and work and I have a social life and I get laid, I need sex, a lot of sex, especially since that medication has been completely out of my system, and I’m not going to bring a girl back to his house and fuck under his roof, that’s just awkward.  Basically he knows I’m prone to trouble, so he even worried about me before I was living with him.  But I assured him I’m not drinking and drugging or anything bad.  Damn, might as well have moved in with my freakin’ parents.  Though I guess it’s nice to know he cares.

Last thing I feel like commenting on that’s been going on recently is my abilities.  I got a lot of exercise with them in the institution, being able to block and filter, but not a lot of practice with opening them up, which I’ve begun to work on once again.  At least I think I can read Gary Oldman (II)’s mind and she can read mine.  But if I look her in the eye too long, she’ll pounce on my face.  She’s good though, she doesn’t use her claws.

And now that I’m on it, here’s a Lord Gary Oldmanism.

WALL GRIMM’S SECOND JANUARY LORD GARY OLDMANISM

According to the internet, which is like a modern day Confucius to a shitload of idiots, sometimes including myself, Lord Gary Oldman said:

“I was quiet, a loner. I was one of those children where, if you put me in a room and gave me some crayons and pencils, you wouldn’t hear from me for nine straight hours. And I was always drawing racing cars and rockets and spaceships and planes, things that were very fast that would take me away.”

And I don’t really have much to say about that except it kind of reminds me of me as a kid.  And I’m still kind of the same way, except with a journal now, and my harmonica, and Gary Oldman (II).  And that’s all I need.  Ok now I have to include a Steve Martinism.

WALL GRIMM’S FIRST EVER STEVE MARTINISM

From the film “The Jerk”:

“I don’t need this or this. Just this ashtray… And this paddle game.  The ashtray and the paddle game and that’s all I need… And this remote control.  The ashtray, the paddle game, and the remote control, and that’s all I need… And these matches.  The ashtray, and these matches, and the remote control, and the paddle ball… And this lamp.  The ashtray, this paddle game, and the remote control, and the lamp, and that’s all I need.  And that’s all I need too. I don’t need one other thing, not one… I need this….”

I love that fucking film.  And my dick is sometimes my special purpose too.  Now obviously, the theme song for today’s journal entry has to be “The Thermos Song” by Steve Martin, from “The Jerk”.

*******

previous Grimm 157: Bogart the Shelter Dog and Ernie & Burt http://wp.me/p41c99-vv

next Grimm 159: Wall Grimm’s List of Identities http://wp.me/p41c99-x0

For a chronological list of links to all the journal entries, refer to the Journal Entries Index Page http://wp.me/P41c99-J

For posts that aren’t journal entries, feel free to explore the Categories in the left side bar or the other pages above, including the Character Directories which list the posts each character is mentioned in.

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 156-170 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 158: Instincts, Sex, An Oldmanism, and Grimm’s First Ever Steve Martinism

  1. Reblogged this on SageDoyle.

  2. thisoldtoad2014

    hi sage, unclear, however enjoyable…. Is there a hidden message?

    If so who side are you on?

    chris

    • Hey Chris/Toad, yeah this post has a lot of run-on sentences, particularly where there might otherwise be dialogue, so I can see how it may have been hard to follow at times. Which part aren’t you clear on? Maybe I can clarify it for you.

  3. Sage- I feel like Im playing catch up with you, Sorry I don’t think we’ve ever spoken before, but if ever you road trip through utah- I think we should hang out- you, me and $5 bucks. …

    • Well thank you lol. I’m pretty good at surviving on just $5 ;) Actually I did go through Utah one time. I was hitchhiking and got picked up by someone I think back on as a mad scientist. My friend was in the front, I was in the back, and the guy kept turning all the way around to face me for conversation, while he was driving. He was swerving all over the road. So I just closed my eyes and pretended to sleep to keep him at least facing forward. Meanwhile, there was some kind of enormous rock rolling around in the very back (it was a station wagon). I thought of it as a meteor. Very interesting. My uncle lives in Utah now, so if I’m ever going to be in the neighborhood, I’ll let you know.

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

