“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 94: The Kept Boy

August 5, 2013

Well last Monday 29th, Hasty, Patrick, Pete and I returned home from our extensive road trip across the States.  Unfortunately, I didn’t document the rest of the trip.  At the time, I was glad for it but now I kinda wish I had some record of our experiences.  However, I have a good reason for choosing not to.  Next time I write in you my journal, my faithful friend, I will have to write that reason down in case one day when I’m old and senial, I’ll be reminded of it.  I don’t want to give the future me any more reasons to think I’m an idiot.

So yeah, let’s see, at least I can write a rough document of our itinerary.

My name is Wall Grimm, and this is the record of my travels:

CAPTAIN WALL GRIMM’S LOG

We went from Seattle to Portland where we spent a night, then went onto Tillamook Forest, spent another night, from there we went onto the Redwood Forest in California, spent a night at some point.  We went to San Francisco, I think we stopped for a night again along the way, maybe, but we spent about a week in San Fran, loved Haight Ashbury. We moved on to Los Angeles, spent a week there, got the Morrison Vibe in Venice, then we hopped onto Route 66.

Drove through Bernardino, Barstow, Needles, then Kingman, AZ until we got to Flagstaff where we spent another week.  In Arizona we went to the Grand Canyon, Lake Powell, and Sedona.  Didn’t make it to Phoenix though.  Moving along 66 drove through Gallup and Albequerque, NM, then stayed a week in Santa Fe, even went camping in the desert.

I had no interest whatsoever in going through Texas again after the hogtying incident, so we got off Route 66 and went back up Northern New Mexico to the Cibola National Forest and into the panhandle.  Made it to Oklahoma City, and we actually helped with some of the tornado clean up.  Hasty wrote something for my journal about that, so I’ll have to paste that in later.  We were there for about a week.

Went onto St. Louis.  Spent a couple nights before we left for Chicago where we spent a night.  Drove briefly though Indiana and went to Cedar Point, Sandusky, Ohio, Hasty’s choice, and spent a couple nights.  From there we drove to New York City through Pennsylvania and New Jersey, and spent two more nights.  The last leg of the journey was a 4 – 5 hour trip back to Boston.

We had a lot of stops and breaks and naps en route and we had a fucking blast.

Ok so yeah that was the trip of Captain Grimm and now I’m home with Paula.  Pete has a place waiting for me to move in with him, but I’m just…whatever.  Kind of unsure about some things.

I’ve been texting with Snow White and she wants to visit me up here in Boston.  I know I’m an ass.

A few days after we got back, I was here alone and Paula had to work, so I was just kind of hanging out being real lazy in my underwear and Paula’s sister comes by.  I don’t think I even knew she had a sister.  She knocked on the door, I glanced out, saw her, thought it was Paula.  Which was stupid since I assumed she forgot her key, which Paula never does.  She’s one of the most responsible people I know.

I opened the door and obviously it wasn’t her, but her sister said, “You must be Grimm.”

I was like, yeah I can be.  As in grim.  It’s often convenient that I can use my own name as a pun.  She looked me up and down, then came in and said she was waiting for Paula.  She sat on the couch and I just stood and looked at her for a minute, like I didn’t know what to do with her.  Was I supposed to entertain her or something?  She was just staring at my dick, still in my underwear of course.  I was like so yeah um…. hey, I think I’ll go get some clothes on.  She said, “oh shame, love the bikini briefs.”  Yep, whatever.

So I got dressed came out and she said something like, “Paula was right, you’re a good, young piece of ass.”  Then I wondered if she was using me.  But she’s said she loves me and I think sometimes she’s kind of obsessed with me, but maybe I’m wrong.  Maybe I’m just vain and thinking since she’s an older woman she has to be in love with me.  But I’ve been wondering since then if she just tells me what I want to hear so I stick around and she has a good fuck whenever she needs it.  Obviously since then I’ve been kind of detached and just going through the motions.  I mean, I haven’t been the best boyfriend, that goes without saying, but I’ve felt like an ass about it.

So anyway, Paula’s sister, I can’t even remember her name, I said, “what do you think, I’m like a gigolo or something?”

She was like, “more of a kept-boy.”

“Is that what Paula said?”

“Paula isn’t having this conversation right now.”

“Then who’s calling me a kept-boy.”

“I am.”

She was a pain in the ass.  So I’ve been thinking since then, maybe if I leave, I’m not being so selfish after all.  But at the same time I’m thinking less of myself, if that’s all I’m worth.  I thought Paula liked me as a person, but now I’m not so sure.

Anyway, my birthday’s Friday, so maybe something amazing will happen then.

*******

previous Grimm Road Trip 11: Temperance http://wp.me/p41c99-ho

next Grimm 95: Hasty’s Account of Devastation, Oklahoma City Tornado http://wp.me/p41c99-gT

For a chronological list of links to all the journal entries, refer to the Journal Entries Index Page http://wp.me/P41c99-J

For posts that aren’t journal entries, feel free to explore the Categories in the left side bar or the other pages above, including the Character Directories which list the posts each character is mentioned in.

Patrick is based on himself at http://phintly.wordpress.com/ and Hasty is based on herself from http://hastywords.wordpress.com/

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 94-115 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 94: The Kept Boy

  1. Desiree G

    He doesn’t love her but she should love him? Explain it to me, Dr.

    • Well it makes sense that you might deduce that from what he said, but it’s not exactly what he means. He likes and respects her, and he’s aware his actions don’t necessarily reflect that. But because he’s not in love with her, it’s hard for him to stay committed. She’s told him she loves him, and based on things she says and does, he believed that. So just hearing this from her sister kind of surprised him a little. Since he was feeling guilty about not being the best boyfriend, he’s thinking he maybe didn’t have to feel that way, if he essentially meant nothing to her. So it’s not really a double standard as it might seem. I mean, whether or not you love someone, if you think they love you and find out they don’t, it can take you aback for a bit. Does that make sense?

      • Desiree G

        I must not be normal, because if I didn’t love someone that declared their love for me and then found out that they didn’t love me after all, I would be relieved. That means I would not have to worry about hurt feelings or staying in a relationship for the wrong reasons. And I am not a believer in basing our own consciences on the behaviors or actions of others — so to me, his failure to be faithful is not excused.

        • I absolutely agree with you. This is where Grimm and I differ. If I’m not in love with someone, I break up with them. I’ve done that more than once. Also, I’m an extremely loyal person, not a cheater at all. I’ve never cheated. Anyway, yeah, I don’t think he was using it as an excuse to feel guilty, but he just began to think that the lack of dedication was more mutual than he thought. It baffled him because he believes he’s more intuitive than that and was surprised to be fooled. I don’t know, I could go on and on psychoanalyzing but, nah lol

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

