“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 35: Thanksgiving

November 22, 2012

Well it’s Thanksgiving and I’m at my parents’ house for a 1:00 Thanksgiving dinner.  I left Lauren at my apartment, because …she’s still there.  I guess I could tell her to get the fuck out, but I can never bring myself to say or do anything mean to girls.  I’m kind of a sucker like that.  If Emma was talking to me, I’d have her get rid of Lauren for me, and she would do it too.  Emma usually asks me to go with her on Thanksgiving in the evening and I have a lot of fun with her family, but she didn’t call me.  I am so fucking sad my whole body aches.  I can’t just let this go on, I have to resolve things with her.  And though Lauren is hot and sweet and barely ever talks, I need my space.  She’s intruding upon me which is why I didn’t bother to ask her to come today.

But anyway, I’ll say one more cynical thing before I give my list of Thanks.  One thing I don’t like about Thanksgiving is that I think every Native American, Indigenous Person, American Indian, not sure what they prefer to be called I think it varies, but I think they all hate me.  Hate me for what settlers did in the past, and that bothers me.  I was not those people, and if I was, I’d hate to think I would ever do anything so deceptive and cruel and violent.  Besides, my ancestry in the U.S. is young, beginning in the 1900′s, on both my mom’s and my dad’s sides, so none of that had anything to do with my family.  In fact, my family were also abused, being Romani and all.

Anyway, last thing about that, though the foundation of Thanksgiving stems from atrocities I don’t even like to think about, for contemporary people it has become something else.  For my family, and I think this goes for most families, we celebrate Thanksgiving as a time to acknowledge all our blessings and everything we should be Thankful for, even little things that we neglect to recognize in our daily lives.  For my family it has nothing to do with the past, rather it’s about the moment, and enjoying family and friends and good food.  It’s essentially a very pagan kind of ritual if anyone would choose to view it that way.

Whatever, here are the things I’m grateful for.

WALL GRIMM’S LIST OF THINGS HE’S THANKFUL FOR:

my family, Emma, Sharly, my job, Gary Oldman, Christopher Walken, bikini briefs, cigarettes, food, beer, whiskey, my apartment, my landlord, blow jobs, books, flushable toilets, camping, Kari Byron from MythBusters, Tylenol, Dunkin Donuts coffee, my laptop, my cell phone, trees, the Walking Dead, zombies in general are very cool, when girls wear red lipstick, tongue rings, the Red Sox, Boston, Sicily, Earl, showers, the ocean, nude beaches, and there’s much more…

Mostly I’m thankful to be alive, because I should have died many times.  I’m thankful that I have the mind that I do, because I try to accept things and learn from experience.  I also know that I’m very fortunate in many ways even though I struggle in my life, and it’s almost a constant battle with myself to make the right choices.  I’m thankful that I survived as much as I have because I like the person I am.

*******

previous Grimm 34: Lauren the Stalker, The Shadowy Guy, & The Man on the Toilet http://wp.me/p41c99-68

next Grimm 36: Camping, Grimm the Naked Wolf, & the Firewoman http://wp.me/p41c99-6o

For a chronological list of links to all the journal entries, refer to the Journal Entries Index Page http://wp.me/P41c99-J

For posts that aren’t journal entries, feel free to explore the Categories in the left side bar or the other pages above, including the Character Directories which list the posts each character is mentioned in.

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 26-50 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 35: Thanksgiving

  1. Desiree G

    “I also know that I’m very fortunate in many ways even though I struggle in my life, and it’s almost a constant battle with myself to make the right choices. I’m thankful that I survived as much as I have because I like the person I am.”
    My guess is this came from your personal journal? Because it sounds a lot like a conversation we had earlier!!

  2. I’m glad he chucked Christopher Walken in there. ( between Gary Oldman and bikini briefs! ) ;)

  3. Reblogged this on SageDoyle and commented:

    I wanted to do a Thanksgiving post, but a lot of people oppose Thanksgiving because of the history. I think Wall Grimm sums it up pretty well here. Personally I’m thankful for everything in my life, even the bad stuff. Right now, there are challenges, but essentially my life is awesome and I’m so grateful for it. I acknowledge my blessings every day. Most relevant is my appreciation for all my readers and how valuable the blogging experience is for me. Wherever you are, have a great day, and I hope you have many things to be thankful for. Thank you!

  4. I remember this post from last year :) We could also look to the Civil War for Thanksgiving gratitude–Lincoln made it an official holiday (I think). Soldiers fought and died and slaves were freed (even if some people want to debate why the slaves were emancipated). White New Englanders not only protested against slavery for years but also lobbied for humane treatment of the Indians. The stereotyping of ALL white people as ruthless Indian killers or slave owners is so intellectually simplistic and uninformed but still pushed down our throats all through school and on TV. Grimm is right to be confused as to why he should be blamed for something some people did years ago. Should all Indians be blamed for scalping innocent women or human sacrifice in Mexico? It’s so ridiculous. Ugh.

    Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving! :)

    • That’s all very true. See, I’m like Grimm, my ancestors don’t go that far back anyway. They came to the states after all that, and even after slavery. Not only that, being Italians, they were extremely discriminated against. But even those people with those ancestors are different people born in different times, and we cannot be held responsible for the mistakes our ancestors made, we can only try to make things better.

      • Yes, and the pilgrims came because they were fleeing religious intolerance–not the snotty modern comments against Christians–but real persecution. Slavery still exists all over the world. As Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson once taught us–there’s good and bad in everyone.

  5. And Pulp Fiction, and Catch Me If You Can.

    • I don’t remember him in “Catch Me if You Can” but can’t forget “Pulp Fiction.” “This watch….” lol

      • Imagine Archer saying this: “You don’t remember him in Catch Me if You Can?!? He’s Leo’s father, for God’s sake, he’s so proud of his pilot son! Tom Hanks is in that movie too, do you remember him?”

        • Yeah, I can hear his voice saying that lol. I just have a very poor memory sometimes. No reflection on Walken.

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

