“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 23: Samhain

10/31/12

Today is Halloween, but it’s also Samhain, pronounced Sowen or something like that.  I can never accurately spell pronunciations.  It’s a Wiccan Sabbat.  I do some Wiccan rituals sometimes because I know witches.  It’s not evil like people think and it has nothing to do with the devil.  Actually the devil is a Christian created concept.  Wiccans worshipped Pan, depending upon the tradition, but he was a horned god, goat footed and all the pagans would ask him to bring fertility to their crops so they could eat over the winter.  During the times of the Inquisition, the image of Pan was transformed to an evil image in order to inspire heathens to convert to the Christian faith.  Pagan basically means worshipping many gods so technically you could call Buddhists pagans.  Heathen’s denotative meaning is ‘people of the heath’ or the hills, farmers and herders for the most part.  The connotative meaning is associated with the evil depiction like I talk about above.  There’s more, but that’s enough of a history lesson now.

Samhain is a time to remember the deceased and honor their spirits.  It’s kind of like El Dia De Los Muertos which is the day of the dead, no not the zombie movie, it’s a Mexican holiday.  I think El Dia De Los Muertos is celebrated on November 1st.  Anyway tonight at midnight Morgan and I are going to bring soul cakes to graves of friends and family we know who have died, then we’re going to do a ritual.  Samhain is also like a Wiccan new year.  It’s about death and rebirth so we kind of focus on the ‘out with the old in with the new’ philosophy.  So I have lots of old habits and stuff like that I need to rid of, and lots of new good energies to bring into my life.  We like to write wishes on birch bark then burn it and the wishes usually come true.  Morgan says you can’t peel the bark off the tree unless you want to piss off the Lady of the Forest.  So we pick it up off the ground, stuff that naturally fell off.

I didn’t work yesterday because we lost power because of Hurricane Sandy.  So that’s when Morgan and I made our soul cakes and planned our ritual.  Our ritual is going to focus on Kathy.  So after the visit to the cemetery and the ritual, we’re going to a costume party.  I’m dressing like a pirate, which is an awesome costume that cost me nothing, which is why I chose it.  I was finally able to pay rent and I don’t have to be my landlord’s sidekick anymore, but things are still tight for a little while.

At work we’re passing out candy to trick or treaters.  I remember being a kid and trick or treating.  Things were so simple then.  Sometimes I wish I never had to grow up.  I still struggle with growing up.

*******

previous Grimm 22: Hope Like Fire & the Chat Room http://wp.me/p41c99-4Y

next Grimm 24: Captain Grimm http://wp.me/p41c99-59

For a chronological list of links to all the journal entries, refer to the Journal Entries Index Page http://wp.me/P41c99-J

For posts that aren’t journal entries, feel free to explore the Categories in the left side bar or the other pages above, including the Character Directories which list the posts each character is mentioned in.

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 1-25 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 23: Samhain

  1. Morbid Insanity

    “It’s a Wiccan Sabbat.”
    A friend invited me to one. It was beautiful!

    “I think El Dia De Los Muertos is celebrated on November 1st.”
    Isn’t it November 2nd?

    • I think it is the 2nd. Or maybe it depends on the country, but I think you’re right. When I looked it up to confirm, I think I found a few different answers, I don’t remember :)

      • Morbid Insanity

        “maybe it depends on the country”
        yeah, maybe that. ^_^

        • Or false info on the internet lol

          • Morbid Insanity

            yeah, or that. lol But it can happen. Valentine’s Day is celebrated in February, but where I live it is in June. ^_^

          • hmmmmm that’s interesting I wonder why

          • Morbid Insanity

            Who disclosed the date across the country thought it would be good for sales that Valentine’s Day was near of the day of St. Anthony, which is the matchmaker saint.
            So, Valentine’s Day = 12th of June and St. Anthony’s day = 13th of June. ^_^

          • Interesting, a ploy for consumers, very interesting…

          • Morbid Insanity

            Exactly! ;) But I bet the romantic ladies don’t think like that.

          • True, or any romantics who take any opportunity to be romantic. I like romance myself.

          • Morbid Insanity

            Yeah, I know, but I think that it could be not only in one specific date, you know?! And I realized that people, the young couples, they use this date just to give and receive presents. Or like an obligation: ‘I have to do something today or my partner will be mad. I have to buy something or my partner will be very angry’. Things like that. Some old folks are a little bit different. They go out to a dinner or an opera, theater…
            I am not considered romantic, or maybe romanticism in my view is a bit different. ^_^

          • Yeah, once there’s expectation, there’s less romance. I agree with that. It has to be natural, not forced. But for some couples, it’s the only opportunity to take the time for themselves as a couple out of their busy lives. So there are pros and cons.

          • Morbid Insanity

            Yes, indeed…

Thoughts?

Blog at WordPress.com.

