“The Journal of Wall Grimm” 9: Jameson’s, Mumford & Sons, and the Possum

September 27, 2012

I don’t remember what I was going to write because as I was hanging outside at my parents’ house with a bottle of Jameson’s, listening to Mumford & Sons, I heard a strange noise and looked up to see a possum that looked like it got hit by a car.  I think they’re nocturnal, the thing looked really disoriented and had some blood on its face.  I got up and told my mom to call someone.  While I did that, the possum went over to the fountain my dad built to drink a bunch of water.  It was obvious that the possum was a frequent visitor to the yard because it went straight to the water.  I thought that was interesting that after it got hit it came to my parents’ yard like it was a sanctuary.  That’s what pets do.  I had a cat that got hit by a car and it came home to die.  So it was like the possum felt at home here and figured it was a safe place to die.  It was really weary.  It tried to go in the woods after it drank and I thought I wouldn’t be able to keep it in the yard.  I wanted to know where it was so I could get it some help.  Its weakness prevented it from moving too quickly so I diverted it from whichever direction it chose to go.  I crouched down and said “It’s ok” over and over again.  It went around the pool and was beneath the stairs and I thought it might settle there because it wasn’t an open space.  I sat in it’s path to kind of trap it there until it settled.  I went into my house and my parents said that no one was going to come get it.  I think that’s appalling.  I think there should be a wildlife rescue league or something around here.  Anyway, I got the cat carrier and then I got the possum to move into the carrier by poking it a little with a stick.  Then I brought it to a local vet who takes in wildlife if you give him a donation.  All I had was twenty bucks.  I called later and they put the possum to sleep.  They said they couldn’t save it, it had too many internal injuries.  I thought that made sense, but I also thought that the cost of euthanasia was probably around twenty bucks, so I didn’t have enough money to rehabilitate the animal.  I could be wrong, but whatever.  I’ve saved lots of animals before.  I don’t like to see things suffer, especially innocent things like animals.  It’s the best thing I do in life is help in that way.  Otherwise, my life is a long slow course of self destruction.

*******

previous Grimm 8: Grimm’s Best Friend Emma http://wp.me/p41c99-3x

next Grimm 10: Troubled Kids, Teddy Bears, & The Shadowy Guy http://wp.me/p41c99-3G

For a chronological list of links to all the journal entries, refer to the Journal Entries Index Page http://wp.me/P41c99-J

For posts that aren’t journal entries, feel free to explore the Categories in the left side bar or the other pages above, including the Character Directories which list the posts each character is mentioned in.

Categories: JOURNAL ENTRIES 1-25 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on ““The Journal of Wall Grimm” 9: Jameson’s, Mumford & Sons, and the Possum

  1. 2 days later for Grimm. No connection to the Emma plot? I guess this one was powerful enough to distract him from her. Or was he blue from rejection and feeling run over like the possum?

    • Well it gets back to it. These beginning posts don’t really have much plot since a lot of the story comes from excerpts or complete journal entries that I wrote about my life, those that were salvaged from campfires. Emma’s pure fiction. In the beginning, I had no idea where I was going with this, it was just something to do when I started my other blog, it kind of became something accidentally.

Thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

